top of page

Easy Pressure Cooker Cabbage Stew


You may not be able to tell by looking at me but I am a total nerd when it comes to cooking. I called my husband absolutely hysterical that organic cabbage was on sale for .49 cents a pound. And when I got a pressure cooker for a gift (thanks mom!), the mad scientist inside me relished in delight. I'm normally not into many kitchen gadgets, but the usefulness of the pressure cooker more than makes up for the lump of counter and shelf space it requires. I'm still diving into all the functions it has but so far I love it.

Sometimes I craze a super simple, in both preparation and taste, dinner. I love this stew because it is a 'meat and potatoes' kind of dish. Nothing fancy, but so delicious. The pressure cooker gets the cabbage super tender; even our 10 month old was chowing down. If you don't have a pressure cooker, see the notes on how to do it in a slow cooker.

Enjoy!

Easy Pressure Cooker Cabbage Stew

Serves 4

Gluten Free, Dairy Free

14oz Kielbasa, sliced

1 small head of cabbage thinly sliced

1 pound of red potatoes, cut into 1/8 cubes

1 onion, sliced

2 red bell peppers, sliced

1 tbl coconut oil

1 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

1/2 cup water or stock

Sauerkraut, optional for serving

1) Prepare the vegetables and meat

2) Add everything to the pressure cooker

3) Lock the lid and set the timer for 7 minutes on high pressure

4) Once finished, quick release the steam.

5) Taste and adjust seasonings. Serve topped with sauerkraut.

Notes and Substitutions

If you do not have a pressure cooker, you can do this in the slow cooker for 6-8 hours on low.

To stretch this even further, serve over rice.

My husband does not like his with sauerkraut so it’s up to you!

I found a "clean" kielbasa without additives and nitrates at Sprouts, check your labels.

Meet Morgan

I can do anything with love in my heart and a latte in my hand...

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Affiliate Disclosure

I may provide links on my blog that I am affiliated with, meaning if you purchase something through them I will receive a commission at no extra cost to you. It will always be items that I personally use and would recommend without a commission. These links help cover the costs of my blogging activities. I appreciate you supporting me.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page